Rideshare apps such as Uber and Lyft have revolutionized the transportation industry. Although these services are convenient, rideshare accidents can leave injured victims wondering who will pay for their medical bills, wage loss, and other damages. At Johnson and Taylor, our personal injury lawyers know how to determine fault in a vehicle accident and have helped clients throughout Oregon recover the compensation they need to protect their health and finances.
Filing Insurance Claims After a Rideshare Accident
In Oregon, regardless of who is at fault for an accident, your own personal injury protection (PIP) insurance pays for your medical bills, wage loss, and other accident-related expenses. However, if you don’t have car insurance, your medical bills exceed your coverage amounts, or you want to pursue compensation for damages like pain and suffering, you’ll have to file a claim with a negligent party’s insurer.
Typically, Uber and Lyft drivers are independent contractors, not employees of a company. This means that in most cases if you’re involved in a rideshare accident caused by an Uber driver, you’ll have to file a claim with their personal insurance company first. However, if the driver’s insurance doesn’t cover all your damages, you may be able to recover compensation from the rideshare company.
It’s also important to know that for any damages to be covered by Uber or Lyft, a driver must be logged into the app when the rideshare accident occurred. Not only that, if another motorist was partially at fault for causing a crash, it may be necessary to file a personal injury claim with their insurance company as well.
Dealing With Multiple Rideshare Accident Claims
Personal injury claims involving more than one insurer get complicated very quickly. Dealing with insurance adjusters and piles of paperwork is frustrating and overwhelming when you’re trying to recover from an injury. Whether you were injured as a rideshare passenger, an occupant of another vehicle, or as a pedestrian or bicyclist, it’s crucial to seek the counsel of an experienced vehicle accident lawyer if you’ve been hurt in a rideshare crash. An attorney can evaluate your case, help you understand how personal injury law works in Oregon, and assist you with pursuing compensation from all available sources.
Uber Insurance Coverage Limits
If the driver was logged into the app and waiting for a ride request when an accident occurred, Uber’s insurer may provide $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability.
If an Uber driver is on the way to pick up a rider or is carrying a passenger in the vehicle, Uber’s insurance company may provide up to $1 million in coverage. This includes uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and contingent coverage for property damage.
If an Uber driver is logged out of the rideshare app when an accident occurs, damages will not be covered by the rideshare company.
Types of Damages in Rideshare Accident Cases
Just because Uber may offer insurance coverage in some cases, it doesn’t mean it’s easy to recover a fair amount of compensation for your injuries. That’s why it’s essential to hire an experienced vehicle accident lawyer who can help you file a personal injury lawsuit if necessary.
Depending on the specific circumstances, an auto accident attorney may be able to help you recover compensation for:
- Past and future medical bills
- Wage loss
- Loss of earning capacity
- Emotional distress
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of companionship and consortium
Having a skilled personal injury lawyer negotiate with insurers on your behalf significantly increases your chances of recovering a fair settlement or award. You need to hire someone with a deep knowledge of Oregon personal injury law.
Contact Our Car Accident Attorneys to Learn More
At Johnson and Taylor, our personal injury attorneys keep up on the latest developments in rideshare injury law. Our experienced team includes Spanish-speaking attorneys and staff. We’re dedicated to helping rideshare accident victims throughout the state of Oregon get the compensation they deserve. Contact us online or call 503-990-6641 to schedule a free consultation. Our personal injury lawyers serve to Johnson and Taylor litigates personal injury, divorce and family law and estate planning and probate cases. Our personal injury lawyers serve clients in Salem, Eugene, Bend, the Oregon Coast, Medford, and throughout the entire state of Oregon.